A closer look at the “Delete for Everyone” feature by WhatsApp.

 

WhatsApp is finally pushing out the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature with the stable build of the device. WABetainfo now reports that the new feature has started rolling out to some users on Android, iPhone, and Windows Phone apps. It only works if both the recipient and sender have the latest version of WhatsApp installed, the site notes, and it also works on Web version.

WhatsApp has also published a guide on how to “delete messages for everyone” on its website.

It wrote: “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats. Similarly, if you see ‘this message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

The report also notes that recipients should have the latest version of WhatsApp app for the feature to work. Using the ‘delete for everyone’, people can revoke messages in a group as well as individual chats. However, only messages that have not been read by the receiver can be recalled.

Meanwhile, WhatsApp is working on the ability to edit sent messages as well. According to the site, the feature is currently disabled by default and it’s under development. It is unclear when the Facebook-owned plans to roll out support to edit sent messages anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.